Masthead

Main Articles

South Bay

 Armed Forces Day in Scarborough is one of the town's most popular events.

This year's date is Saturday 29th June and celebrates our wonderful Armed Forces in the spectacular South Bay.

The day is fantastic and the flying display line up has just been announced. 

These include:

 

Calidus Autogyro

RAF Battle of Britain Spitfire solo display

RNLI and HMCG SAR Demo

RAF Tucano Display Team

RAF Typhoon Display Team

 

Whether you're new to this amazing event, or have attended it in the past, it's a fantastic day.

Details correct at time of publication.

 

Love food? Enjoy a drink?

Then get your tastebuds ready for the Scarborough Food and Drink Festival 2019!

This year's dates are Saturday 11th May (11am to 6pm) and Sunday 12th May (11am to 4pm).

The foodie extravaganza is taking place at the iconic Open Air Theatre in the North Bay.

The Scarborough News and Yorkshire Post have joined forces to help bring this event to the coast.

There will be live demos from well-known chefs including Stephanie Moon, James Mackenzie and Rob Green and many more.

 

Scarborough Cricket Club is an iconic venue for fans of the sport.

Located at North Marine Road near Peasholm Park, it's a classic site in Scarborough.

 

Their 2019 Cricket Attractions have now been announced, as follows:

Tuesday 16th to Thursday 18th April

Yorkshire 2nd Xi v. Lancashire 2nd XI

 

The Specsavers County Championship

Sunday 30th June to Wednesday 3rd July

Yorkshire 1st XI v. Surrey 1st XI

 

133rd Welcome to Yorkshire Annual Cricket Festival

The Specsavers County Championship

Sunday 18th August to Wednesday 21st August

Yorkshire 1st XI v. Nottinghamshire 1st XI

Friday 23rd August 

Yorkshire Diamonds v. Lancashire Thunder

Monday 19th August - Festival Dinner held in the Marquee

 

Monday 16th September to Wednesday 18th September

Yorkshire 2nd XI v Durham 2nd XI

Second Eleven Friendly 

 

Details correct at time of posting. 

The annual cycle race, the Tour de Yorkshire, will wheel its way into Scarborough in May 2019!

With both women's and men's races taking place from Thursday 2nd May to Sunday 5th May inclusive, the challenging routes include the coastal stage during this iconic event.

Scarborough is the finish for the women's Stage 2 race on Saturday 4th May. The route tackles the up hill and down dale undulations between the start in Bridlington, East Yorkshire, before ending in Scarborough. The distance is 135km.

The men's race follows the same route on the same day and forms Stage 3 of their event.

The atmosphere is fantastic and the finish will take place in Scarborough's North Bay.

The women's race is the first of its kind for the Tour de Yorkshire and is sponsored by Asda.

The men's race has its fifth outing in 2019and has been upgraded to HC status by the UCI. 

Find out more here!

 

 

 

It's that time of year again ... Scarborough Open Air Theatre is announcing their top line-up for the 2019 summer season.

And a number of big acts are heading our way this summer!

The dates and artists that have been announced so far are: West End Proms on Friday 5th July, Hacienda Classical on Saturday 8th June, Sir Cliff Richard on Wednesday 26th June, Years and Years on Thursday 18th July, Madness on Friday 19th July, Lewis Capaldi on Saturday 20th July, Jess Glynne on Sunday 21st July and Kylie Minogue on Thursday 1st August. Lewis Capaldi returns to Scarborough on Friday 30th August.

These are bound to be a sell out so grab your tickets here.

Scarborough Open Air Theatre is in Scarborough's beautiful North Bay, just moments from golden sands and sparkling seas. Lots of places to eat nearby, with some parking and Peasholm Park just over the road.  

Open top buses run between the South and North Bays making the Open Air Theatre easy to get to. Dates correct at time of posting. 

Page 1 of 2